Monday, May 12, 2014

BOOK REVIEW: REBEL (Reboot #2) by Amy Tintera!

Title: REBEL (Reboot #2) 
Author: Amy Tintera (Website Twitter)
Publisher: HarperTeen 
Publication Date: May 13, 2014


The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.

After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn't what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren's instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he's underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.

Add Rebel on your "to read" list in Goodreads, using this link.

Ramblings. If you’re one of my fangirling buddies or one of my friends in Goodreads, I’m sure you’ve noticed that I was gushing about Reboot last year and was already dying to read the sequel as soon as possible. But that’s really not gonna happen because we’ve learned that “Rebel”, the sequel and the conclusion for this duology was set for release a year after the first book hit the markets. So, everything was just a waiting game for me and my hungry mind and eyes. If you want to check my review for Reboot, here you go.

When I received my first e-mail from HarperCollins of them listing the titles they’re going to offer to bloggers and professional readers for review, I immediately spotted REBEL and clicked it on for request! I just have to have a copy of REBEL in my hands! I was praying really hard that they’ll be able to grant my request and send me an ARC of it. While the other half of me was trying not to get my hopes up and thinking that maybe they’ll turn down my request for that book because duh that was my first time to have a publisher offering me books for review. Waiting game 2.0 began … with me being shitless scared and hoping for the worst. LOL!

Surprise, surprise … Last May 2, a guy from a delivery company dropped off a package for me. Me? My mouth was just hanging open because of the shock and surprise that was coursing through me at that time. Seriously, up until now I still can’t believe that thing happened but I have this box near my bedside table to remind that it certainly did. Inside it were ARCs of the books that I requested and among that pile was an ARC of Rebel. Mah baby! So, yep that’s the back story of why I have a copy of Rebel already!

It has taken me a few days before reading Rebel because I have to finish a few books first before I dive into this one and I have to re-read Reboot first to refresh myself. And I’m glad that I read Reboot and Rebel back-to-back.

Immediate thought after reading this book. I’m very pleased and satisfied with the way the Reboot-Rebel duology ended. With only two books, Amy Tintera really gave the readers with a well-built fictional world and presented us with characters who were able to develop so much through the course of it. I’m very happy with everything that happened in the book. It was jam-packed with events that cover the action, suspense, thrill-ride journey of the characters and a smidge of romance on the side. If you loved and adored Reboot, I’m quite sure that you’ll love Rebel even more!

My thoughts. Just like Reboot, Rebel is a very exhilarating read. How it was written and the pacing of the story in which the author set it is pretty much like Reboot’s. It’s a fast and light read but still give you this breathing time to grasp everything being thrown in our way. Tintera nailed that area down in Reboot and even proved her point here in Rebel. It’s absolutely perfect considering the amount and gravity of the events that happened all throughout the book. The whole time I was reading it, I was at the edge of my seat and gripping its sides. Intense, guys. I can’t even remember if there was any dull moment in this book it was just filled with lots of twists and turns or just transition periods between it. Some twists really surprised me and some scenes that I kind of expected to happen.

I tell you, Rebel definitely starts with a bang! The story resumes exactly where Reboot left off with the difference of Callum being the one narrating the story to us and inserting some of his smart-ass sentiments and comments. Is Rebel written in Callum’s POV? Nope. Rebel is written in both of Wren’s and Callum’s voice, which is very refreshing because now we learn both of their deepest thoughts and how they are going about with everything. Plus, consider that there’s a difference between their characters – in terms of the number, whole emotional thing and "Callum being still close to being a human" – that alone is very interesting to read! Plus, the world building concept for this book and the whole Reboot ordeal is very easy to slip into. Wait wait. Another one … I really have to give it to Amy Tintera, she really excels in writing action packed scenes. It’s so film-licious!

This time around, we’re not only treated with the HARC facility, Rosa and Austin as the setting of the story. Rebel totally gives us a full experience of what Tintera created. We have the Reboot Reservation, which for the most part of the book was the main setting. There were also travels to certain places like New Dallas and the “old” Austin that happened. I enjoyed every single bit of exploring these places along side with our characters.

As I’ve said earlier in this post, this book “presented us with characters who were able to develop so much through the course of it”. Aside from the action sequences that were peppered all throughout the book, I can definitely say that the character development is another of my favorite things that I got to witness and read in this one. You’ll be amazed on how both of their characters have grown from their Reboot days.

Wren’s still the bad-ass heroine we've met in Reboot. But now her character is faced with coming to terms on who she is and how she can now create her own decisions in life. We continue to go along with her conversion from being an emotionless and headstrong HARC trained Reboot to a Reboot who’s now honest … who laughs and cries. The struggle is there but Wren goes through with it and has Callum to help and guide her. Aha! Speaking of Callum, MY GOODNES! I just want to hug this guy! We don't see Callum just sitting in the sidelines or waiting for Wren to command him BUT THIS TIME AROUND HE'S THE MAN who controls the situation! You'll see his character go from someone who needed some saving turn into someone who is very active and does the planning and rescuing. AAAH promise, the character development for this book is AMAZING! As for Callum, you'll just end up loving him even more. Lucky, Wren! *zips my mouth* now to avoid some spoilers...

Considering that it’s a sequel and the last book at that, there are certainly new characters that will step up to the plate and will join in with the craziness. I’ll just name some of them here and have you guys figure out what their roles were in the book to keep this review non-spoilery. Here you go: Micah, Jules, Kyle, Riley, Beth and Gabe. Be sure to keep an eye on those characters that I’ve mentioned.

I’ve read in some reviews here on Goodreads that the romance department in Reboot kind of ruined the book for them, well that’s your opinion. And I think Tintera heard you, guys. Because I can definitely say that this time around she toned it down in that specific area. Hush now. Don’t worry my fellow fangirls, the romance is still there but it wasn’t the highlight of the book. It’s just there in the background but definitely plays a huge role in anchoring Wren and Callum’s character amidst the chaos that was happening around them. My Wren-Callum fangirling heart is still absolutely happy and contented with it.

HA! There’s a certain chapter in this book that really gave me a heart attack! You’ll know what I mean when you get your hands to a copy of this book.

I think, that’s it for me and this Rebel book review. Fellow Reboots out there, GRAP A COPY OF THIS AS SOON AS YOU SEE IT IN STORES or even buy it in Amazon/B&N/Kobo or whatever eReader you have! You’ll definitely enjoy and love it! It’s a perfect, action-packed conclusion to the Reboot duology. Fellow booknerds, if you want to read a great duology you should definitely pick this up!

To Ms. Amy Tintera, Thank you so much for creating such an awesome duology.I 'm looking forward into reading more books coming from you and I hope that it kicks ass just like Reboot & Rebel! !

Thank you so much HarperCollins Publishers and HarperTeen for granting my request and graciously sending me an ARC of Rebel! 


  1. Woah! That is one long book review you got there! Haha! Super glad you love it. I'll start on reading Reboot later and I'm super excited :3

    1. HAHAHAHA! I'm just rambling in that post! I hope you like Reboot too, Sharmaine! :)

    2. Hey, just wanted to let you know, that I bought Reboot yesterday :)
      I didn't read your review of Rebel, because I'm afraid I might get spoilered but I will read it as soon as I've finished Reboot ^^

    3. Omg yay!!! I hope you like Reboot! My review for Rebel is totally non-spoilery! But yeah, just for you to be safe and all! Haha :)

    4. I'm going to read and review it next week :)

    5. I'm definitely going to check that out! :)